Listen to Michael McDonald on iHeartRadio | Listen to The Doobie Brothers 

The Doobie Brothers are putting a country spin to their sound.  And Michael McDonald is returning to the group for the upcoming project, featuring collaborative remakes of some of the band's biggest hits with some of today's biggest country stars. 

Brad Paisley, Toby Keith, Sara Evans, and Chris Young are on board, along with the Zac Brown Band, Jerrod Niemann, Love and Theft, and others.  A track listing for the set hasn't been announced yet. 

The Doobie's hits include the chart-toppers "Black Water" and "What A Fool Believes," as well as "China Grove, "Minute By Minute," "Long Train Runnin' " Takin' It To The Streets," and more.  The Doobie Brothers' country collaboration album is expected to be released later this year. 

Photo Credit Getty Images